The big four

15 March 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve now finished re-reading what I think of as the Big Four novels – Crime and Punishment, The Idiot, The Devils and Brothers Karamazov and I’ve written about all of them – the most recent addition being a piece on The Devils. My essays aren’t particularly polished or structured; what seemed important was to get some of my initial thoughts written down while they were still fresh in my mind.

Now I’m onto new territory, reading some of the shorter novels that are new to me. House of the Dead is top priority because Opera North are performing it up here soon, so I must read the book before I see the opera! I’ve borrowed an old Constance Garnett translation from a friend, which will be interesting to compare with Magarshack. I’m also waiting for news on a new job, so am going to be relying on Dostoevsky to keep me distracted for the next few days.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The big four at Notes from an Idiot.

meta